Maynooth Edge Queen’s in Tense Sigerson Cup Affair

Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup 2019 Round One

QUB 0-8

Maynooth University 0-9

From Odhrán Crumley at The Dub

Maynooth have edged Queen’s University in a tense, nervy and at times error ridden Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Round One game.

The Belfast University were without two would be starters in Odhran Eastwood and James McAuley who compete in the All-Ireland Intermediate Club Semi-Final with their club St.Enda’s later today.

Both set-up with an almost basketball style formation making it difficult for their opponents to break down leading to Queen’s finishing with seven wides to Maynooth’s ten.

The Leinster men would have felt short changed only leading by one at the break as the dominated the early exchanges with Padraig Fogarty, the target man inside grabbing the bulk of their scores.

In the second half, Shane Mullholland’s side improved drastically and dominated proceeding as their opponents had in the first half.

Ryan Treanor, Emmett Deane and Niall Keenan kicked scores to cut the gap to one as the game entered injury time as the Belfast students were denied what appeared to be a clear penalty with Mark Hyland appearing to foul James McMahon in the small square.

In the end, the visitors showed real composure, holding possession which prevented any chance of grabbing a late equaliser.

Queen’s will now host NUIG in the new backdoor of the Sigerson Cup on Wednesday February 23rd with a throw in time of 7pm in The Dub.

Maynooth move into the Quarter Final where they will meet the winners of St.Mary’s Vs IT Tralee/ IT Sligo on Wednesday February 6th.

Queen’s University, Belfast: Andrew Hasson, Conor McCluskey, Oisin Lappin, Niall Keenan (0-1), Niall Rafferty, James Rice, Conor Cox, Ruairi Campbell, Donal McKeever, Callum O’Neill (0-1), Ryan Treanor (0-3 3f), James Smith (0-1), Daniel Guinness, Kieran Hughes (0-1), James McMahon.

Subs: Emmett Deane (0-1), Conor Martin, Niall Allison, Ben Crealey, Jack McCann, Niall Hannigan.

Maynooth University: Niall Currie, Niall O’Sullivan (0-1), James Kelly, Mark Hyland, Daniel Courtney, Jason Gibbons, Emmett Maloney, Ethan Devine, Darragh Lyons (0-1), Ruadhan O’Giollain (0-1), Niall O’Donnell, Stephen Comford, Jimmy Hyland (0-1), Padraig Fogarty (0-5 2f), Stephen O’Hanlon.

Subs: Conor Cannon, Karl McMenamin, David Malone.

Referee: Barry Cassidy (Derry)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW