Two Ulster players claim Minor All-Star awards

Electric Ireland, proud sponsors of the GAA Minor Championships have announced the 2019 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards Football Team of the Year.

Made up of 15 of the seasons top players that made a lasting impression during the 2019 Minor Football season including Monaghan’s Ronan Boyle and Tyrone’s James Donaghy.

The 2019 season featured an incredibly high standard of play, showcasing the bright future of the GAA. Minor players across the country showed their resilience, commitment and dedication this season, proving once again that there is nothing minor about playing Minor.

The team was selected by a panel of GAA experts, including former Dublin footballer, Tomás Quinn and Donegal’s most decorated footballer, Karl Lacey, and was fed into in part by Electric Ireland’s ‘Player of the Week’ initiative on Twitter. The panel will also select an overall Football Player of the Year whose name will be announced at the 2019 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards event. This year’s Electric Ireland Football Team of the Year features four standout players from All-Ireland champions Cork, four players from six-time winners and 2019 finalists, Galway, two players from Munster champions Kerry, two players from Connacht champions Mayo, and one player from each of Kildare, Monaghan and Tyrone.

2019 Electric Ireland Football Team of the Year

1.  Devon Burns – Kerry (Na Gaeil)
2.  Jonathan McGrath – Galway (Caherlistrane)
3.  Oisín Tunney – Mayo (Breaffy)
4.  Ronan Boyle – Monaghan (Truagh Gaels)
5.  Darragh Cashman – Cork (Millstreet)
6.  Daniel Linehan – Cork (Castlemagner)
7.  James Donaghy – Tyrone (Carrickmore St. Colmcilles)
8.  Ethan Henry – Mayo (Mayo Gaels)
9.  James McLaughlin – Galway (Moycullen)
10. Aaron Browne – Kildare (Celbridge)
11. Conor Corbett – Cork (Clyda Rovers)
12. Michael O’Neill – Cork (Buttevant)
13. Daniel Cox – Galway (Moycullen)
14. Tomo Culhane – Galway (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
15. Dylan Geaney – Kerry (Dingle)

The Football and Hurling Teams and Players of the Year will be awarded at the third annual Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards, set to take place at Croke Park on Saturday, 28th of September.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW