+44 (0)28 8224 3444
Gaelic Life Mast Head

Seventh heaven for record-breaking Slaughtneil

Derry Senior Hurling Final 2019

Slaughtneil 1-23 Kevin Lynch’s 2-12

From Odhrán Crumley in Owenbeg

Slaughtneil overcame a resurgent Kevin Lynch’s side to claim a record breaking seven Derry Senior Hurling title’s in a row.

Cormac O’Doherty top scored for the champions elect, hitting sixteen points over the course of the hour, keeping the scoreboard ticking over while the Lynch’s took the initiative.

The Emmett’s took an early 0-6 to 0-2 lead with four scores in as many minutes from O’Doherty.

Fortune favours the brave and this was exactly the mantra that brought the Dungiven men back into the game.

Mark Craig’s effort from long range was spilled into the net by Morgan McEldowney to level the sides at the break 1-7 to 0-10.

Whatever Geoffrey McGonigle said at half-time worked as Kevin Lynch’s hit the net with the first play of the game.

Mark Craig gathered the throw-in before dispatching long into McHugh who raced clear before blasting into the lead.

Free taking exhibitions were the subplot as Corey O’Reilly and Richie Mullan extended the lead while O’Doherty hit his thirteenth score of the game to level once again.

Brian Cassidy put the seven in a row chasers one up before Brendan Rogers burned Conor Kelly before cutting in and firing into the bottom corner of the net.

Four points between the sides with ten to go, Brendan Rogers and Karl McKaigue added further insurance scores.

In the end, the six points flattered Slaughtneil who have made further history and now advance to meet the Armagh kingpins, Middleton in the last four of the Ulster senior hurling championship.

Slaughtneil: Morgan McEldowney; Karl McKaigue (0-1), S Cassidy, Michael McEldowney; Shane McGuigan, Séan Ó Caiside, Meehaul McGrath; Brian Cassidy (0-2), Christopher McKaigue; Mark McGuigan, Cormac O’Doherty (0-16 14f), Gerald Bradley; Sé McGuigan, Jerome McGuigan (0-2), Brendan Rogers (1-2).

Subs: Conor McAlister for J McGuigan (53), Paedar Kearney for M McEldowney (57).

Kevin Lynch’s: Brian Lagan; Niall Smyth, Patrick Kelly, Conor Kelly; John Mullan, Mark Craig (1-1), Liam Óg Hinphey; Eoghan Cassidy, Thomas Brady; Kevin Hinphey, Niall Ferris (0-1), Corey O’Reilly (0-5 4f); Odhran McKeever (0-1), Tiarnan McHugh (1-0), Richie Mullan (0-3 3f).

Subs: Sean Kelly for K Hinphey (22), Padraig O’Kane for O McKeever (46)

Referee: Tarlach Conway (Ballinascreen)


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW