+44 (0)28 8224 3444
Gaelic Life Mast Head

2015/16 All-Ireland Club Allstars – football

Ballyboden St Endas Andrew Kerin

Ballyboden St Endas Andrew Kerin

This year’s football champions were Ballyboden St Enda’s who beat Castlebar in the All-Ireland football decider on St Patrick’s day by 2-14 to 0-7. As a result they have six representatives on the football team.

Donegal goalkeeper Paul Durcan is one of them, named for his heroics between the sticks for the Dublin side. Unsurprisingly, the mighty Michael Darragh MacAuley is named at midfield. His performance in the semi-final against Clonmel Commercials helped him win the award.

Ballyboden were down to 14 men, and in danger of going out but they clung on, got the game to extra time, and then won in a real battle.

Clonmel had an incredible run to reach that semi-final, and will be wondering what might have been had they not lost Michael Quinlivan to a black card early in extra time. Their sole representative on the Gaelic Life All Star team is Seamus Kennedy in the half back line.

Castlebar’s disappointing performance in the final means that they have just one player in the 15, Paddy Durkan in the half back line.

Crossmaglen were so close to beating Castlebar in the final they will still be kicking themselves. Their only representative is Tony Kernan in the half forward line, who has had a fine season for the Rangers. The rest of the team is made up of Kerry representatives, Intermediate champions St Mary’s Cahirciveen, and Junior winners Templenoe, as well as beaten finalists Hollymount Carramore of Mayo.

The overall Footballer of the Year Award went to Andrew Kerin of Ballyboden.

All star footballers team sheet

The selection of Gaelic Life All-star winners from the Club Hurling Championship.


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW