+44 (0)28 8224 3444
Gaelic Life Mast Head

Derry through to Christy Ring semi despite defeat

Christy Ring Cup, Group One, Round Three

Derry 0-16 Wicklow 1-16

From Odhrán Crumley in Owenbeg

Derry have advanced to the semi-final of the Christy Ring Cup despite losing at home to Wicklow.

The league champions have crashed out of the competition on score difference as Derry join Down in the last four.

The Oakleafers will meet Meath while the Ardsmen will take on Roscommon.

Sé McGuigan gave Derry the lead after just nine seconds before Gary Hughes levelled by virtue of opening his teams account.

Cormac O’Doherty and Enda Donohue traded scores before Wicklow were awarded a penalty after Andy O’Brien was fouled.

Christopher Moorehouse stepped up to take the shot and his low effort into the bottom left corner was expertly saved by Séan Kelly who had earlier denied Moorehouse a sure goal.

Staunton, Kearns and Donohue continued to take on scores while a Gerard Bradley score on the whistle stopped the rot for the Oakleafers.

However, it was the Leinster men that led 0-9 to 0-6 at the break, Derry hitting seven wides to their opponents four.

Wicklow took a four point lead early in the second half as, Enda Donohue rattled the back of the net.

Richie Mullan dragged his team back into the game with seven second half scores as he took over the free-taking duties from a misfiring Cormac O’Doherty.

Both teams would finish with fourteen men as both Conor Kelly and Michael Boland received straight reds for an off the ball incident.

However, John McEvoy’s charges would hold on to secure their place in the last four for the second consecutive year.

Derry: Séan Kelly; Paddy Kelly, Sean Cassidy, Darragh McCloskey; Liam Og Hinphey (0-1), Meehaul McGrath, Conor Kelly; Gerald Bradley (0-2), Brian Og McGilligan; Paul Cleary, Richie Mullan (0-7 5f), Mark McGuigan (0-1); Mark Craig, Sé McGuigan (0-3), Cormac O’Doherty (0-1 1f).

Subs: John Mullan for P Cleary (11), Tiarnan McHugh (0-1) for M Craig (45), Alan Grant for C O’Doherty (63), Thomas Brady for B McGilligan (66), Dara Cartin for G Bradley (69).

Wicklow: Conor McNally; Peter Keane, Billy Cuddihy, Martin O’Brien; Gary Byrne, Stephen Kelly, Eamon Kearns (0-1); John Henderson, Jack Doyle; Enda Donohue (1-7 6f), Daniel Staunton (0-1), Michael Boland (0-1); Christopher Moorehouse, Andy O’Brien (0-4 1f), Gary Hughes (0-2).

Subs: Jonathan O’Neill for C Moorehouse (44), Eoin McCormack for J Doyle (53), Luke Evans for G Hughes (65), Ronan Keddy for E Donohue (73).

Referee: Thomas Gleeson (Dublin)


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW