+44 (0)28 8224 3444
Gaelic Life Mast Head

Derry maintain 100% record with win over Wicklow

Allianz National Football League Division Four

Derry 2-8 Wicklow 0-9

From Odhrán Crumley in Watty Graham’s, Glen

Derry have maintained their 100% record on top of Division Four and are now currently one win from confirming promotion back to Division Three.

Wicklow proved to be tricky customers in what was a thoroughly professional performance from the Oakleafers.

The Leinster men hit the first two scores of the game before the home team rattled the net after a neat intricate passing move.

Declan Hughes claimed a mark from Ciaran McFaul’s pass slipping the ball to Shane McGuigan who in turn squared to Christopher McKaigue who punched home.

Emmett Bradley and Chris O’Brien traded scores before Christopher Bradley cut out a short kick-out before rolling the ball into the back of the empty net.

Damian McErlain’s were in control at the break leading on a scoreline of 2-3 to 0-5.

Wicklow goalkeeper, Mark Jackson opened the second half scoring nailing a long range free as Emmett Bradley continued to keep the scoreboard ticking over, playing at his home club.

Conor McGraynor fought the Leinster team’s charge before Ryan Bell and Padraig Cassidy kicked late scores to confirm the victory.

Derry: Thomas Mallon, Karl McKaigue, Brendan Rogers, Paul McNeill, Jason Rocks, Eamon McGill, Michael McEvoy, Christopher McKaigue (1-0), Ciaran McFaul (0-2), Emmett Bradley (0-4 2f), Shane McGuigan, Padraig Cassidy (0-1), Christopher Bradley (1-0), Ryan Dougan, Declan Hughes.

Subs: Ryan Bell (0-1) for Declan Hughes (50), Patrick Coney for Jason Rocks (60), Conor McAtamney for Ryan Dougan (60).

Wicklow: Mark Jackson (0-3 3f), Oisin Manning, Ross O’Brien, Jamie Snell (0-1), David Devereaux, Shane Mooney, Darragh Fitzgerald, Pádraig O’Toole, Dean Healy, Darren Hayden, Mark Kenny (0-1), Theo Smith, Chris O’Brien, Stephen Duffy (0-1 1f), Conor McGraynor (0-3 2f).

Subs: Patrick O’Connor for Stephen Duffy (43), Conor Healy for Theo Smith (49), Gearóid Murphy for Chris O’Brien (50), Daniel Keane for David Devereaux (63), Eoin Murtagh for Shane Mooney (65).

Referee: Niall McKenna (Monaghan)


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW