Marathon cannot split Cavan and Armagh in Clones

Ulster Senior Football Championship Semi-Final 2019

Armagh 1-14 Cavan 0-17

From Odhrán Crumley in Clones

Cavan and Armagh will have to do it all again, next weekend after ninety minutes of action couldn’t separate the teams in Clones.

The Orchard County played with the advantage of a sizable wind in the first half but, it was their opponents who would have went in the happiest at seven apiece.

Jarlath Og Burns recovering well from a spurned goal chance to dominate the middle sector.

After a prolonged half time interval due to neither side wanting to run onto the pitch first, the action got underway.

Burns bursting through on goal, this time making no mistake in sending the ball low under Raymond Galligan and into the net to give his time a four point advantage.

It looked like the aforementioned major would land the Kieran McGeeney’s team in their first Ulster Final since 2008 before the influence of subsititute Cian Mackey told.

The Breffni men were reduced to fourteen with eight left on the clock as Ciaran Brady received his marching orders.

A comeback looked unlikely but, three scores from the Cavan hero, Cian Mackey all south of forty yards plunged the game into extra time.

There would be no scores in the first half of extra time before the teams would hit a point apiece in the second period.

The extra allotted time could not separate the teams forcing a replay.

Cavan and Armagh will now meet once again in Clones on Sunday June 9th at 4pm.

Cavan Scorers: Niall Murray 0-5 (4fs), Cian Mackey 0-3, Gearoid McKiernan 0-2f, Dara McVeety 0-2, Stephen Murray 0-2, Chris Conroy 0-1, Conor Moynagh 0-1, Gerard Smith 0-1.


Armagh Scorers: Jarlath Óg Burns 1-2, Rian O’Neill 0-4 (3fs), Aidan Nugent 0-2, Paul Hughes 0-1, Jemar Hall 0-1, Stefan Campbell 0-1, Joe McElroy 0-1, Jamie Clarke 0-1 (f).

Cavan: Raymond Galligan, Jason McLoughlin, Padraig Faulkner, Conor Moynagh, Gerard Smith, Killian Clarke, Conor Rehill, Conor Brady, Gearoid McKiernan, Martin Reilly, Dara McVeety, Niall Murray, Oisin Kiernan, Thomas Galligan, Conor Madden

Subs: Ciaran Brady for Moynagh (4 mins, temp), Ciaran Brady for Faulkner (BC, 27), Chris Conroy for Smith (28), Cian Mackey for Madden (46), Stephen Murray for Conor Brady (52), Oisin Pierson for Thomas Galligan (70), Paul Graham (extra-time), Jack Brady for Niall Murray (81), Barry Fortune for Moynagh (BC, 84), Madden for Kiernan (87).

Armagh: Blaine Hughes, James Morgan, Mark Shields, Paul Hughes, Ryan Kennedy, Brendan Donaghy, Aidan Forker, Jarlath Óg Burns, Niall Grimley, Aidan Nugent, Rory Grugan, Jemar Hall, Jamie Clarke, Rian O’Neill, Stefan Campbell

Subs: Joe McElroy for Morgan (23 mins), Ethan Rafferty for Campbell (58), Andrew Murnin for Grugan (65), Niall Rowland for Forker (70), Ben Crealey for Nugent (70), Charlie Vernon for Burns (temp, 73).

Referee: Derek O’Mahony (Tipperary).

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW