Down SFC: Kilcoo edge Warrenpoint to win back Mourne crown

Kilcoo 1-12 Warrenpoint 0-14 

Kilcoo claimed their seventh title in the eight years overcoming a brave Warrenpoint challenge thanks to a Dylan Ward goal in the 51st minute. 

Warrenpoint went in search of their first title in 66 years but it was the favourites that led by the minimum at the break.

John Boyle hit St.Peter’s into the lead with ten to play before Ward’s goal sent the title back to Kilcoo after a one year hiatus.

Scorers for Kilcoo: Dylan Ward 1-1, Paul Devlin 0-4 (3fs, 145’), Ryan McEvoy 0-3 (3f) Martin McCourt 0-1 (f), Jerome Johnston 0-1, Ryan Johnston 0-1, Aidan Branagan 0-1.

Scorers for St. Peter’s Warrenpoint: Ross McGarry 0-9 (7fs) Ryan Mallon 0-1, Ruairi McCormack 0-1, Anton Magill 0-1, Donagh McAleenan 0-1 (1f), John Boyle 0-1.

KILCOO: Martin McCourt; Darryl Branagan, Niall Branagan, Niall McEvoy; Miceal Rooney, Aidan Branagan, Aaron Branagan; Ryan McEvoy, Dylan Ward; Anthony Morgan, Paul Devlin, Ryan Johnston; Eugene Branagan, Jerome Johnston, Conor Laverty.

Subs: Sheelan Johnston for Darryl Branagan BC (37), Aaron Morgan for Eugene Branagan (52), Tiarnan Fettes for Anthony Morgan (64).

ST. PETER’S WARRENPOINT: Gary McMahon;Adam Lynch, Ryan McAleenan, Cormac McCartan; Ryan Magee, Patrick Murdock, Ryan Boyle; John Boyle, Ciaran McCartan; Aron D’Arcy, Ruairi McCormack, Ryan Mallon, Aaron Magee, Ross McGarry, Donagh McAleenan.

Subs: Anton Magill for Ryan Boyle (45), Jamie Grant for Aaron Magee (48).

REFEREE: Adrian Sharvin.

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW