Derry win shoot-out to maintain 100% record

Allianz National Football League Division Four

Derry 3-21

Wexford 4-16

From Odhrán Crumley in Bellaghy

Seven wins from seven and a case of job done for Derry as they continued their preparations for next Saturday’s league final pairing with Leitrim.

Promotion and a place in the decider were sealed before the final two games, giving Derry boss, Damian McErlain a chance to experiment with his team.

That fact may go a long way towards explanation the shoot-out that unfolded in Bellaghy.

The Oakleafers raced into an early 2-4 to 0-2 lead after just ten minutes thanks to goals from Benny Heron and Enda Lynn.

It was the evergreen Ben Brosnan who replied for Wexford two minutes later with a fine goal before the silly season continued as Ryan Dougan palmed home the games fourth goal from the very next attack.

There was merely fifteen minutes on the clock and the home team led 3-6 to 1-3, Ryan Bell and Jonathan Bealin traded efforts throughout the half as the half time score read; Derry 3-11 Wexford 1-8.

Early in the second half, Kevin O’Grady dispatched a penalty for the Leinster men who outscored their opponents 3-8 to 1-10 in the second period.

Bealin and Bell continued their battle within the war with scores before Conor Mulholland saw red for a second bookable offence.

Derry led by seven entering the final ten minutes of the game before two goals in a minute from Ben Brosnan and Barry O’Connor cut the deficit to the minimum.

Substitute, Sammy Bradley pointed with the final action the game to seal victory in a topsy-turvy encounter.

Derry: Ben McKinless, Sean Quinn, Conor Mulholland, Paul McNeil, Patrick Coney (0-1), Eamon McGill, Niall Keenan (0-1), Ryan Dougan (1-1), Conor McAtamney (0-1), Conor Doherty (0-2), Enda Lynn (1-3 1f), Padraig Cassidy, Benny Heron (1-2) Ryan Bell 0-9 4f 1m), Niall Toner.

Subs: Christopher Bradley (0-1) for E Lynn (53), Karl McKaigue for R Dougan (67).

Wexford: Conor Swaine, Michael Furlong, Mark O’Neill, Sean Barden, Glen Malone, Brian Malone, Eoin Porter, Daithi Waters (0-1), Niall Hughes, Ben Brosnan (2-1), Jonathan Bealin (0-10 6f), Conor Devitt, Barry O’Connor (1-1), Eoghan Nolan, Kevin O’Grady (1-2 1pen).

Subs: Gavin Sheehan for S Barden (HT), James Cash (0-1) for M O’Neill (45), Tiarnan Rossiter for C Devitt (51), David Shannon for N Hughes (63), Michael O’Regan for E Nolan (71).

Referee: Barry Judge (Sligo)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere


Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW