Ulster players rewarded for impressive performances at camogie All-Stars Gala

THERE  is a strong Ulster representation in the Camogie Association’s Soaring Stars team of the year with Antrim’s Maeve Kelly named as intermediate player’s player of the season.

The awards were presented at the refixed All-Stars Awards banquet in the Osprey Hotel, Naas on Friday night.

Antrim were rewarded with their All-Ireland title with six players named on the team that also included Armagh star Ciara Donnelly.

Speaking at the event, Uachtarán Hilda Breslin said: “It is wonderful to be back sharing this prestigious event with you all in person and celebrating our players for their high quality and thrilling performances last year.

“Congratulations to all our winning players and to all our nominees on this wonderful recognition for your efforts in your county shirt last year. It is a proud achievement to be recognised for your performances at the highest level and I hope tonight’s achievement inspires you all to continue lighting the way for the sport and for future generations.

“I would like to thank the GPA for their joint sponsorship of the Player of the Year Awards, and congratulate Aoife Donohoe, Maeve Kelly and Chloe Cashe on their respective Camogie Association/GPA Player of the Year Awards. My congratulations also go to Cathal Murray on being the 2021 Manager of the Year.

“The action is very much underway for the new season and the excitement for what the summer months have lying in wait is palpable. I am looking forward to another brilliant year on the pitch in 2022.”

 2021 All-Stars Team: Sarah Healy (Galway), Shauna Healy (Galway), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Davina Tobin (Kilkenny), Megan Farrell (Kilkenny), Laura Treacy (Cork), Laura Hayes (Cork), Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Hannah Looney (Cork), Aoife Donohoe (Galway), Katie Nolan (Kilkenny), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Siobhan McGrath (Galway), Orlaith McGrath (Galway), Ailish O’ Reilly (Galway)

2022 Soaring Stars Team: Catriona Graham (Antrim), Chloe Drain (Antrim), Roisin Phelan (Kilkenny), Niamh Leahy (Kilkenny), Sarah Crowley (Kilkenny), Leanne Fennelly (Kilkenny), Aideen Brennan (Wexford), Chloe Cashe (Wexford), Nicole O’Neill (Antrim), Maeve Kelly (Antrim), Ciara Banville (Wexford), Ava Lynskey (Galway), Roisin McCormack (Antrim), Ciara Donnelly (Armagh), Catriín Dobbin (Antrim)

Camogie Association/GPA Senior Players’ Player of the Year: Aoife Donohue (Galway)
Camogie Association/GPA Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year: Maeve Kelly (Antrim)
Camogie Association/GPA Junior Players’ Player of the Year: Chloe Cashe (Wexford)
Manager of the Year: Cathal Murray (Galway)

Receive quality journalism wherever you are, on any device. Keep up to date from the comfort of your own home with a digital subscription.
Any time | Any place | Anywhere

No tags for this post.

Gaelic Life is published by North West of Ireland Printing & Publishing Company Limited, trading as North-West News Group.
Registered in Northern Ireland, No. R0000576. 10-14 John Street, Omagh, Co. Tyrone, N. Ireland, BT781DW